Home » Being an Author » Writing slump leading to sharing a bit of my writing

Writing slump leading to sharing a bit of my writing

 

NaNoWriMo___Poster_V_by_Pianochick66

Hello…Yet again I have neglected my writing. If I want to have half a chance of winning NaNoWriMo, I will have to avoid the shiny pretties and start actually writing. I’ve got the ass in chair part down pat! Now I will need to ignore all the distractions somehow. I’ll work on that tomorrow.

After getting up at 5 AM to feed the man before he goes to work. YES! He finally starts his job tomorrow. Happy in some ways, not so much in others. At least I might get a few more minutes of writing in, since he does tend to not notice I have my headphones on signaling I am either writing with my music OR listening to video/webinar type stuff.

I’m going to share some NaNo themed videos I found tomorrow. Maybe pretty early, so I have NO EXCUSE not to write in the novel. Or pretty late, after the family and I have dinner. But hopefully not this late…so  I can try to sneak in a little writing time after dinner.

So…I sort of alluded to sharing some more of my writing. I’d love some feed back, but please keep in mind this is a VERY rough draft. There may be instances of the word elephant that do not make any sense. It’s a place holder for a detail I haven’t decided on. You can weigh in if you have an idea to fill in that detail..the comments are your place to tell me what you think of my rough draft.

This is a scene with a fight in it. I will admit the fight needs some detail. All of my rough draft is detail deprived. The female is my MC, who is also partnered with Roan for investigations. They both work for a local detective agency. Roan has just helped Jacie by loading his truck up with furniture she needs to get to her house.

Sun and Moon (working title) sneak peek

Roan and I get everything on his truck and in the mustang. As we head to my place, I think about how long we’ve had each other’s back.

I started at the agency when I got sick of dealing with the sexism on the local state police force. It’s not push over strong, but it’s ten times as hard to get ahead if you don’t have three legs.

I answered the ad, knowing I was over qualified. Larry called me two days later, and the rest was history. One phone interview and I was hired, sight unseen.

When I showed up at my job the first day, imagine my horror at being place with yet another sexist pig as my partner. As the new face on the block, I had to suck it up and try to do the best in a bad situation.

On our first case, I saved Roan’s life. Literally.

We had been looking into a suspicious death that had been ruled as an accident by the medical examiner’s office. The wife thought it was too quick and too clean of a ruling. So she hired us.

With Larry’s contacts inside the local force, we can usually get the case files on just about any closed case. Even on some of the open ones, when the official detectives are stumped.

This one did look cut and dried, but Roan and I pushed forward anyway. We checked the car itself, and found nothing suspicious. We were even able to get a second opinion from the states ME when I pulled a couple of favors in. Nothing was adding up, but neither was it pointing to possible murder.

The break-lines had no fluid but there were no holes, cuts or tears in the lines. The man had been alive when his car careened off into the local lake. There was water in his lungs to prove it.

As a last ditch effort, we asked if the original ME had any blood or tissue samples that could be tested for drugs. We got very lucky. He did have some samples that I sent off to the state lab for a full tox screen. And it came back with pay dirt.

The husband had a non-lethal but sleep inducing level of elephant in his system. He was asleep when the car went into the water. With the amount of elephant he had in him, there is no way he could have walked to his own car, much less driven the five miles to where his car left the road.

This forced the local PD to re-open the case, but we kept at our investigation as well. When tracing possible sources of the elephant, we found two likely suspects. We questioned them both in their homes. We were hoping that one would come out with something incriminating. Neither did, so we kept digging.

We finally decided to head to our respective homes after midnight about a week after the interviews with our suspects. As we left the building, I could smell cheep cologne that I knew I had smelled before. I couldn’t exactly place it, but it had me on high alert as Roan and I went to our cars.

As Roan approached the door to his car, I saw a shadow about two feet a away. When it moved, I raised my weapon and cautioned the person to stop. Of course, the idiot didn’t stop at all and I had to shoot.

Lucky for the suspect, I’m a dead shot. I hit his left leg high on the thigh, which brought him down. Roan got him in cuffs and we got LBRPD on scene to arrest him for real. The arresting officers found a syringe filled with elephant. Enough to knock Roan out.

After that, Roan has pretty much treated me as one of the guys. And that works for me. He has my back and I have his, both on and off the job. What more could one want from their partner?

So what do you think? Use the poll to leave anonymous feedback. Or use the comments to give me specific feed back. You can even hit my contact page and send it to me in an email. What you think matters to me! Please let me know if it needs something more than detail (like that’s a little thing *rolls eyes at self*). Thanks so much for reading.

sig

 

One thought on “Writing slump leading to sharing a bit of my writing

  1. Pingback: Sun and Moon Collide Dream Cast and Some Videos to Help Us Stay Motivated | My Writing Adventure

Share Your Thoughts