Home » NaNoWriMo » I must have lost my mind

I must have lost my mind

Introduction

NaNoWriMo 2013I have often thought about writing a book. I’ve even written some short reports. I’ve never even dabbled with fiction!

So I go and decide to join NaNoWriMo. What the What?!?!? If you don’t know, NaNoWriMo is a challenge every November where people get together-both virtually and in real life- to write at least 50 thousands words in 30 days. You are supposed to start from scratch, it is supposed to be fiction. You can research and plan all you want. As long as you don’t write out your story. Outlines, synopsis…all good. Finishing last years WriMo Book… not so good.

Actually, that’s not true. You can decide to rebel. You can break all the rules. You decide if you should confirm your word count to “win” WriMo.

Lots of people can win WriMo. You win by completing your goal of at least 50 thousand words written during the month of November.

The great thing so far is all the resources. Forums for support. Forums with plot and character stuff you can adopt. Even a free eBook or two.

So, why am I doing another blog? (I have one main blog that has turned into a book promotion site, and tons of other domains that need work!)

I want to be accountable. Even if it’s just to myself. But I’m hoping YOU will drop by regularly to see where I am and how it is going.

Every weekday (and maybe some weekends) I will post an update on what I’ve done that day. From now until November 1, it will be my planning stuff. Maybe some tips I’ve seen around the web all brought together to be a resource for us all. Maybe a rant about how I am the worst procrastinator ever (True Story!).

What I’ve done today

I downloaded some of the writing planning stuff WriMo suggests. I learned Scrivener, and a time line software.

First draft of Jennifer Jinright's map for her NaNoWriMo Story

First draft of my world map. Needs color!

I read some tips posts. I acted on one by making a map of my world. It still needs some names but it’s mostly finished.

I’ve read forums. I adopted a few things. Asked for a mentor. Joined a Facebook and Google + support group.

I generated a few character names. I’ve decided the number of races. Yes, there are humans. Though they may have a different name.

I’ve put off doing anything about getting ready for work. But that doesn’t matter much. It’s not like there is a lot to do!

I think I am taking my computer to work with me, so when I have down time, I can plan and work on my story idea. When I get one.

Yup. I have NO CLUE what my plot will be. Ha!!

 

 

How About You?

Are you joining in the madness next month? Had You heard about NaNoWriMo before reading this? Let me know in the comments at the end!

Also, if your a WriMo too, you can friend me up here if you’d like. I friend back 😉

 

Related articles

Share Your Thoughts

